The grounds and natural settings give The Claremont a picturesque quality reminiscent of the Age of Romanticism. In the 1930’s, the entire second floor was flanked by a large porch where visitors would sit, take walks and admire the surroundings and spectacular sunsets. Some will remember The Claremont’s Garden Room “high atop the hill” where such famous bands as Count Basie, Louis Armstrong and Tommy Dorsey performed. During this period, lawn sports such as tennis, badminton and croquet were gaining popularity and the resort’s first tennis courts and pool were built. Around 1940, the porch was enclosed and transformed into office and dining space. At that time, The Claremont was painted entirely white, the roof was fire-proofed, and the shingles were turned a whitish-silver color.
In 1954, Mr. Harold J. Schnitzer of Harsh Investment Corporation bought the property and leased it to Mr. Murray Lehr. It became a popular site for conventions held in the Bay Area. By 1959, The Claremont had more convention and exhibit space than any hotel west of Chicago and represented the largest convention resort in the Bay Area.